Commission Members

Membership Structure

Pursuant to the provisions of the Act, the fifteen-member Delta Protection Commission was created.  Its diverse composition provides for stakeholder representation in the areas of agriculture, habitat, and recreation.

As specifically provided for in the Act, members of the Commission include: One member of the Board of Supervisors of each of the five counties within the Delta (Contra Costa, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Solano, and Yolo), whose supervisorial district is within the Primary Zone; an elected city council member representing  the County of San Joaquin; an elected city council member representing the Counties of Contra Costa and Solano (on a rotating basis); an elected city council member from the regional and area councils of government representing the Counties of Sacramento and Yolo; landowners from north, south, and central Delta reclamation districts; and high-level leaders from Business, Transportation and Housing, the Natural Resources Agency, Food and Agriculture, and the State Lands Commission.  The two ex-officio members of the Commission are representatives of the Senate and  Assembly.

Members of the Commission all are bound by a Conflict of Interest Code that ensures Commission actions are free of inappropriate influence.

Commission Members

Diane Burgis, Chair
Supervisor, Contra Costa County
Alternate: Karen Mitchoff

John Vasquez, Vice Chair
Supervisor, Solano County
Alternate: Mitchell Mashburn

Oscar Villegas
Supervisor, Yolo County
Alternate: Jim Provenza

Patrick Hume
Supervisor, Sacramento County
Alternate: Patrick Kennedy

Steven Ding
Supervisor, San Joaquin County
Alternate: Tom Patti

Ron Kott
Mayor, City of Rio Vista    Cities in Contra Costa and Solano Counties
Alternate: Vacant

Paul Steele
Councilmember, City of Isleton      Cities in Sacramento and Yolo Counties
Alternate: Vacant

Alan Nakanishi
Councilmember, City of Lodi    Cities in San Joaquin County
Alternate: Susan Lenz

Nick Mussi
Representative, South Delta Reclamation Districts
Alternate: Stephen Dean Ruiz, Esq.

James Paroli
Representative, Central Delta Reclamation Districts
Alternate: Dante Nomellini, Sr.

Tom Slater
Representative, North Delta Reclamation Districts
Alternate: Vacant

Toks Omishakin
Secretary, California State Transportation Agency
Alternate: Dennis Agar

Karen Ross
Secretary, California Department of Food and Agriculture
Alternates: Christine Birdsong, Josh Eddy

Wade Crowfoot
Secretary, California Natural Resources Agency
Alternate: Nancy Vogel

Brian Bugsch
Chief, Land Management Division, California State Lands Commission
Alternate: Eric Gillies

Ex Officio Members

Honorable Susan Talamantes Eggman
California State Senate

Honorable Carlos Villapudua
California State Assembly