Delta Protection Advisory Committee

The Delta Protection Advisory Committee (DPAC) provides recommendations to the Delta Protection Commission on diverse interests within the Delta, including the Delta’s ecosystem, water supply, socioeconomic sustainability, recreation, agriculture, flood control, environment, water resources, utility infrastructure, and other Delta issues. This fifteen-member committee is appointed by the Commission and meets regularly; members serve three-year terms and may be re-appointed. Meetings are open to the public and everyone’s input is welcome.

The Committee was created by the Delta Protection Act, Public Resources Code Section 29753(a). This is its Charter (PDF).

DPAC meets every other month. Its next meeting will be held Aug. 6 and the agenda will be posted here at least 10 days in advance. Past meeting agendas are here.

DPAC Members

Delta General Public:

  • Anna Swenson (Chair), Clarksburg
  • Katie Wiley, owner of Wiley Marketing & Design

Delta Water Exporter: Russ Ryan (Vice Chair), Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

Delta Agriculture:

  • Gary Mello, J&L Mello Farm Equipment, RD 563 (Tyler Island)
  • Craig Watanabe, Mandeville Island/CCRC Farms

Delta Business:

  • Emily Pappalardo, principal engineer and partner in DCC Engineering Co. Inc. in Walnut Grove
  • Arron Pellarin, Village West Marina in Stockton

Delta Conservation/Habitat Non-governmental Organization: Jim Cox, CA Striped Bass Association

Delta Cultural Preservation: Douglas Hsia, Locke Foundation

Delta Flood Entity: Chris Elias, San Joaquin Area Flood Control Agency/CA Central Valley Flood Control Association Delta General

Delta Organization: Mariah Looney, Restore the Delta

Delta Recreation:

  • Todd Bruce, Delta Recreationist
  • Morris Lum, Recreational Boaters of CA

Delta Utility/Infrastructure: Sam Garcia, Pacific Gas & Electric Company

Delta Tribe: Steven Hutchason, Wilton Rancheria

State Agency:

  • Erin Chappell, California Department of Fish and Wildlife
  • Edward Hard, California Department of Parks and Recreation Division of Boating and Waterways

Ex-Officio Members

Heather Swinney, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Jessica Fischer, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Mario Manzo, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
Kris Tjernell, California Department of Water Resources
Jeff Henderson, Delta Stewardship Council
Campbell Ingram, Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Conservancy

For more information contact Bruce Blodgett.

If you are interested in receiving updates, join our mailing list.