NHA Management Plan Advisory Committee

The Delta Protection Commission is the entity responsible for preparing a management plan for the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta National Heritage Area, which was created by Congress in 2019 (PDF).

To advance that goal, the Commission created a 15-member volunteer NHA Management Plan Advisory Committee – read its charter (PDF) – to develop the plan.

The NHA Committee is scheduled to meet every month until the management plan is approved by the Secretary of the Interior. However, the meeting scheduled for Sept. 7 has been canceled.

Contents of this Page

The Advisory Committee’s Progress

So far, the committee has completed the following sections of the management plan:

Mission Statement

The Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta National Heritage Area is a partnership coalition working together to recognize, enhance, and promote the National Heritage Area as an ecological, agricultural, recreational, historical, and cultural treasure.


The Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta National Heritage Area supports living links among the past, present, and future and among farmed, developed, and wild lands in the Delta, Suisun Marsh, and the Carquinez Strait. This globally significant estuary sustains a remarkable and diverse blend of natural and human communities that have emerged over millennia. Through partnerships, SSJDNHA affirms and protects this living landscape – the appreciation of Delta cultures, relationships with water and landscapes, rewards of labor and commerce, and the revitalizing benefits of recreation – and shares it with Californians and visitors from around the world

National Heritage Area goals

Goal 1: Guided by interpretation, and through institutional leadership and community projects, promote and instill an evolving understanding and appreciation of the historical and ongoing changes in the Delta’s land, water, wildlife, and communities.

Goal 2: Steward the heritage and culture of the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta, by identifying, preserving, conserving, and enhancing the unique identity, resources, and living traditions of the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta.

Goal 3: Support sustainable tourism and economic development by encouraging responsible use of, and visitation to, the Delta’s unique resources and communities.

Goal 4: Connect and support collaboration among governmental and non-governmental partners, businesses, and residents to establish a brand that readily identifies the Delta NHA and increases public awareness.

Goal 5: Seek, establish, and maintain collaborative partnerships, effective governance principles, and sustainable business practices to manage the coordinating entity and the NHA.

Committee Membership

Individual Members

Bruce Blodgett (Chair)
Elizabeth Patterson (Vice Chair)
Michael Campbell
Lenora Clark
Paulette Hennum
Matt Holmes
Douglas Hsia
Carol Jensen
Janet Lake
Gia Moreno
David Stuart
Malissa Tayaba
Jan Vick
Dan Whaley
Jean Yokotobi

Ex Officio Members

Karen Buhr, Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Conservancy
Herbert “Lou” Griffin, Wilton Rancheria
Jeff Henderson, Delta Stewardship Council
Matthew Moore, United Auburn Indian Community
Michael Moran, East Bay Regional Park District
Trevor Rice, National Park Service
John Takekawa, Suisun Resource Conservation District

Past Meeting Agendas

2023 meetings

June 2023 agenda (PDF)

May 2023 agenda (PDF)

April 2023 agenda (PDF)

March 2023 agenda (PDF)

February 2023 agenda (PDF)

2022 meetings

December 2022 agenda (PDF)

September 2022 agenda (PDF)

June 2022 agenda (PDF) | June 2022 meeting recording

May 2022 agenda (PDF) | May 2022 meeting recording

March 2022 agenda (PDF) | March 2022 meeting recording

2021 meetings

January 2021 agenda (PDF) / January 2021 meeting recording

March 2021 agenda (PDF) / March 2021 meeting recording

May 2021 agenda (PDF) / May 2021 meeting recording

July 2021 agenda PDF / July 2021 meeting recording

September 2021 agenda (PDF) / September 2021 meeting recording

December 2021 agenda (PDF) / December 2021 meeting recording