DPAC 2023-12-19

Delta Protection Advisory Committee

Tuesday, December 19, 2023, 5:30 p.m.
Steamboat Bar and Grill
12414 CA 160, Courtland 95615


  1. Call to Order/Flag Salute – Anna Swenson, DPAC Chair
  2. Welcome and Roll Call
  3. Public Comment – An opportunity for members of the public to address the Committee regarding items not on the agenda
  4. Approval of October 10, 2023, Meeting Minutes – The Committee
  5. Update on Delta Protection Commission activities – Bruce Blodgett
  6. Update on the status of the Delta Conveyance EIR – Osha Meserve
  7. Update on levee subvention funding – Emily Papalardo
  8. Presentation on Broadband in the Delta – Russ Ryan
  9. Update on the status of the NHA management plan – Blake Roberts
  10. Member Announcements and Next Meeting
  11. Adjourn

The agenda items listed above may be considered in a different order at the Committee meeting, subject to the discretion of the Chair. At the discretion of the Committee, all items appearing on this agenda, whether expressly listed for action, may be deliberated upon and may be subject to action. The Committee welcomes and encourages participation in its meetings. The Committee limits testimony to not more than three minutes per person, or more time at the discretion of the Chair.

Questions, Comments, and Requests

If you have any questions or have a request for reasonable modification or accommodation due to a disability, please contact the Delta Protection Commission at dpc@delta.ca.gov or (916) 375-4800.

Comments submitted to submit@delta.ca.gov by noon on December 18, 2023, will be shared with Commissioners prior to the meeting to the extent possible. Public comments on each agenda item will follow the order of: 1) emailed comments, 2) those verbally requesting to make comments after notice offered by Chair during meeting.

Delta Protection Advisory Committee Members

Chair Anna Swenson (Delta general public) | Vice-Chair Russ Ryan (Delta water exporter) | Robyn Brown and Arron Pellarin (Delta business) | Craig Watanabe and Gary Mello (Delta agriculture) | Todd Bruce and Morris Lum (Delta recreation) | Edward Hard and Erin Chappell (State agency) | Chris Elias (Delta flood entity) | Mariah Looney (Delta organization) | Jim Cox (Delta habitat/conservation non-governmental entity) | Sam Garcia (Delta utility/related infrastructure) | Douglas Hsia (Delta Cultural Preservation).

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS: Representatives of the California Department of Water Resources, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Delta Stewardship Council, and Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Conservancy.