2024 Delta Leadership Program Kicks Off

15 people standing in front of a mural

The 2024 class of the Delta Leadership Program. L-R front: Jacylyn Stokes, Pat Tirone, Priti Agarwal, Min Park, Samar Salma, Cintia Cortez, Matthew Brown, Nancy Young. L-R back: Tim Cook, Krystal Moreno, Malissa Tayaba, Katie Wiley, Ahmad Majid, Alice LLano, MacKenzie Owens.

SACRAMENTO, Calif. (Jan. 12, 2024) – The 2024 Delta Leadership Program kicked off Friday with its first meeting of the year for its 15 participants.

Run by the Delta Protection Commission and the Delta Leadership Foundation, the program is designed to build and support leadership within the Delta community.

The first seminar of the year covered Delta legislation; Delta agencies; and Delta trends, issues and interests. In addition to honing leadership skills, participants will team up on projects benefitting the Delta.

This years participants are:

Priti Agarwal, Alameda County: Recent volunteer with Lodi Sandhill Crane Festival, nearly 20-year career in Bay Area corporate positions (Director, Manager, Analyst).

Matthew Brown, San Joaquin County: Banking officer (Bank of Stockton since 2019, Bank of Rio Vista from 2011-2018), 3rd generation Rio Vistan, Walnut Grove Rotary Club since 2015, graduate of Leadership Lodi.

Tim Cook, Yolo County: Co-owner of Meyer and Cook Insurance Co. (Walnut Grove), Walnut Grove Rotary Club, Walnut Grove Fire Department (former Captain), Clarksburg Cub Scouts Pack 83 Den Leader.

Cintia Cortez, San Joaquin County: Restore the Delta (Policy Analyst since March 2022).

Alice LLano, Yolo County: Pear farmer in Clarksburg, community volunteer (school parent teacher council, Friends of Clarksburg Library, Clarksburg Rotary Club).

Ahmad Majid, San Joaquin County: National Women in Agriculture (Central Valley Chapter President since September 2022), Director of Environmental Initiatives – With Our Words (since Jan. 2023), Central Valley Neighborhood Harvest (multiple positions since March 2020).

Krystal Moreno, Placer County: Traditional Ecological Knowledge Program Manager (Shingle Springs Band of Miwok Indians – since 2018), DSC Adaptive Management Forum Advisory Board member, volunteer competitive softball coach.

MacKenzie Owens, San Joaquin County: Restore the Delta (Media and Communications Coordinator), Community Based Organization Advisory Committee for Estuary Youth Council (part of San Francisco Estuary Partnership).

Min Park, Contra Costa County: Bethel Island community volunteer (Bethel Island Municipal Improvement District), professional career in hospitality industry (New York, Oklahoma, Hawaii, and Bay Area restaurants, including Executive Director of Greens Restaurant).

Samar Salma, Solano County: External Affairs Specialist with FEMA, Certified California Naturalist.

Jacylyn Stokes, San Joaquin County: Walnut Grove grape grower, board member of Lodi Winegrape Commission, California Agricultural Leadership Foundation (Class 52).

Malissa Tayaba, El Dorado County: Vice Chair and Director of Traditional Ecological Knowledge for Shingle Springs Band of Miwok Indians (and other positions since 2008), member of Delta Conveyance Project Stakeholder Advisory Committee.

Patricia Tirone, San Joaquin County: Founder of Delta Sculling Center in Stockton, advocate for building the Delta Aquatic Center in Stockton.

Katie Wiley, Sacramento County: Marketing Manager for numerous Delta businesses (Wimpy’s, Al’s Place, Fosters Bighorn), Delta recreationist.

Nancy Young, San Joaquin County: Mayor, City of Tracy (on City Council since 2012), deep community involvement with numerous organizations in Tracy.